All posts by

Family Reunion Vacations San Antonio Children's Museum PragmaticMom http://PragmaticMom.com, Education Matters, San Antonio River Walk Boat Tour

Family Reunion Vacations: San Antonio, Texas!

Family Vacation Tips for San Antonio, Texas!

We had the best time in San Antonio over February school break. It was freezing in Massachusetts and while San Antonio got a freakish dump of snow two weeks ago, we enjoyed a week of temps in the 50-70 degree Fahrenheit range! I think the key to this trip was The River Walk. Miles of meandering paths along the Venice-like canals chock full of small waterfalls and restaurants was a most pleasant way to get exercise and entertainment! Read more…

PragmaticMom pragmatic mom caught in the act of reading kevin

Caught in the Act … of READING!

Kids Caught in the Act of Reading!

So many cute photos this week! Thank you to everyone who submitted a photo. I will post them all eventually and typically post in the order received. Just as a reminder, remember to turn your geo tag/location feature off your smart photo under the photo section if you don’t want anyone to be able to know where your photo was taken. Here’s my post on that. I wanted to catch up on these cute photos and then return to posting on kids reading to pets so stay tuned for that next week. And I always need photos! Please email me at pragmaticmom.com(at)gmail(dot)com. Just substitute (at) for @ and (dot) for . Thank you! Read more…

Hiroshima In the Morning: An UnFugable Memoir in the vein of Eat, Pray, Love

Memoir of a Bad Mother

I know this review is a snarky but the book just brought that out in me but I feel redeemed when CapabilityMom sent me this Huffington Post article/video on her where she says that she never wanted children and that she’s worse than Hitler. CapabilityMom wrote a beautiful and balanced review of her book if you want another perspective. We were both part of the same blog tour but mine, ahem, did not get included. I wonder why?… Read more…

10 Types of Crappy Interviewees

Cartoon Humor from The Oatmeal

This is the follow up from a previous post, 6 Crappiest Interview Questions, also from The Oatmeal. From working in the staffing business for years (ok, decades), I  actually have experienced most of these 10 Types of Interviewees. Who knew this really happens?! I know this not what I normally blog on but I couldn’t resist. What about you? Have you had any of these interviewees staring back at you? If so, please share! Read more…

How To: Teach Your Child Compassion

Teach Your Child Compassion

I found this article by Carrie Snyder. Here’s an excerpt:

In a new book, The World Needs Your Kid, co-written by Craig and his brother Marc Kielburger, with Shelley Page, the brothers argue that any child has the potential to change the world. And that parents have a big role to play. Written in a light-hearted and easy-to-read style, the book is chockfull of practical suggestions that families can easily grab onto and do, while learning and putting into practice the “Three C’s”: compassion, courage, and community. Some suggestions apply more to older children and teens, and others work for families like ours, with children eight and under.  Here are our top 10 inspirations from The World Needs Your KidRead more…

Crafts from Bolivia adorable finger puppets in purse Pragmatic Mom Friday Find fair trade PragmaticMom

Adorable Finger Puppets that Snap to Purse

Finger Puppet and Purse Toy for Girls

These adorable finger puppets came in the mail and my kids, who are normally puppet types, could not keep their hands off them. And what is so great about them, besides being:

  • adorable
  • portable
  • creative
  • compact
  • versatile; can double as child’s purse Read more…

Stinging Nettle Tea + Local Honey = Pollen Allergy Cure!

All Natural Pollen Allergy Cure

I have discovered that though my favorite season in New England is Spring, I have developed an allergy to the yellow pollen that sticks to cars that is from the Douglas Fir tree which makes me love Spring slightly less.  I did get prescriptions from my doctor for Flonase and will use eye drops and Claritin when the weather is especially hot, dry and windy. Read more…

Read Rock and Rock Boston Literacy Fundraiser for Reach Out and Read PragmaticMom

Boston Literacy Fundraiser

Read, Romp + Rock April 8th at WBGH in Brighton

WHAT: Read Romp + Rock is a fun, hip social evening featuring a dance party with great music and delicious food and drinks. There’s also the signature “Celebrity Reader” raffle, which allows guests to win one-of-a-kind experiences with local celebrities, including David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox. Read more…

Penderwicks at Point Mouette

Top 10: Best Middle Grade Chapter Books by my 8yold Daughter (grades 3-7)

Best Books for 4th Grade

My middle daughter is so picky that she started her own blog on the things that she likes. Getting her a book she likes for me is an education in getting reluctant readers to engage. Tonight at dinner she asked me to blog on her blog to drive traffic to it. Smart kid. I told her that she needs to put up 4 posts first so that readers will know what her blog is about. This is her second post but I changed the book descriptions. If you want her opinion on why she likes these books, please read her post at Picky Kid Pix. (She’d be delighted with some traffic and she doesn’t mince words!). Read more…