Bookstagram Choice Awards

Bookstagram Choice Awards: Early Chapter Book Series #OwnVoices

If you haven’t been following Here Wee Read‘s Bookstagram Choice Awards, she’s rounded up 20+ bloggers, each of whom has selected a single book to award.

Bookstagram Choice Awards

The books are on the Instagram account, @bookstagramchoiceawards, with one blogger posting per day and two bonus bloggers:

11/27 – @afriendlyaffair
11/28 – @andy.plemmons
11/29 – @biracialbookworms
11/30 – @bookbairn
12/1 – @booksbeyondthebest
12/2 – @dropandgivemenerdy
12/3 – @happily.ever.elephants
12/4 – @helpingkidsrise
12/5 – @hereweeread
12/6 – @ilovebooksandicannotlie
12/7 – @kidartlit
12/8 – @ohcreativeday
12/9 – @picturethisbook
12/10 – @readingisourthing
12/11 – @spiky_penelope
12/12 – @teaching3rdwithmrg
12/13 – @teeandpenguin
12/14 – @thebarefootmommy
12/15 – @the.book.report
12/16 – @theconsciouskid

BONUS BOOKS
12/17 – @pragmaticmom
12/17 – @littleelfman

I am on the last day with my pick for Early Chapter Book #OwnVoices!

I have picked two exceptional Early Chapter Book series to highlight, and my winner is …

 

Bookstagram Choice Awards Winner: Early Chapter Book #OwnVoices

Jasmine Toguchi: Mochi Queen by Debbi Michiko Florence, illustrated by Elizabet Vukovic

There are very few Japanese American characters in children’s books who are not in WWII Internment Camps. And, there are NO Japanese American lead characters in Early Chapter Books. But that’s not why I chose the Jasmine Toguchi series.

Jasmine is a pitch perfect spunky girl who just happens to be Japanese American. Her problems are relatable to any child in first, second, or third grade: siblings and friendship issues, big plans that go awry, and the pain of not being the oldest who gets to do everything first.

I also love how Japanese culture is slipped seamlessly into the stories. Learn about mochi and Japanese New Year traditions in this first book, and try it yourself with recipes and activities included on the author’s website. Make this a full body experience!

Fans of Clementine, Ivy + Bean, Anna Hibiscus, and Amber Brown will love this series too. Kids who like funny early chapter books will also appreciate the humor in Jasmine Toguchi. [early chapter book, ages 6 and up]

 

Early Chapter Book #OwnVoices Honorable Mention

Lola Levine and the Halloween Scream by Monica Brown, illustrated by Angela Dominguez

Lola Levine’s favorite part of Halloween is being scary but when one of her tricks goes wrong, she must find a way to make it right.

What I love about this book is that it’s not a predictable and typical Halloween story. Instead, Monica Brown enriches typical kid’s costume dilemma with a multicultural introduction to harvest festivals in other countries.

“There are lots of celebrations during the fall, all over the world. For example, Chinese people celebrate the Moon Festival in mid-autumn… “Mexicans and Mexican-Americans like me celebrate Dia de los Muertos, the Day of the Dead, at the start of November.” [early chapter book, ages 6 and up]

GIVEAWAY

Are you on Instagram? Win this great set of books by heading over to my Instagram, @Pragmaticmom. Giveaway ends Dec 21 so there is still time!

BookstagramChoiceAwards Giveaway

I am an Amazon affiliate which means if you buy anything through my blog, I get a very small kickback at no cost to you. I use this money to pay for postage and handling for my giveaways.


By Mia Wenjen, PragmaticMom

1 Comment

  1. Go Jasmine!! Congrats, Debbi & to you too, Mia!

    I’ve been following this on IG, and follow many of these accounts. Now I have more to add–thank you!

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge