2015 Children's and Teen Choice Book Awards

2015 Children’s and Teen Choice Book Awards & Kid Lit Blog Hop

Kids and teens have picked their favorite books of the year! 2015 Children’s and Teen Choice Book Awards, the only national book awards program where winning titles are chosen by young readers of all ages! This is a great list to look over for summer reading … surprise your teen at sleepaway camp with one of these choices and enjoy the picture book, graphic novel and chapter books with your kids at home!

Kindergarten to 2nd Grade Book of the Year

Eva and Sadie and the Worst Haircut EVER! by Jeff Cohen, illustrated by Elanna Allen

Meet Eva and Sadie in debut picture book author Jeff Cohen’s Eva and Sadie and the Worst Haircut EVER! The book was inspired by the viral recording of NPR reporter Jeff interviewing his two little girls explaining the worst haircut ever. When big sister Sadie notices Eva’s hair is just too long and getting out of control, she decides to take matters into her own hands. When the haircut is over and there’s a pile of hair on the floor, Sadie realizes she may have done something wrong. What will Eva and Sadie’s parents say? Will they be able to fix the worst haircut ever?

3rd Grade to 4th Grade Book of the Year

Kali’s Story: An Orphaned Polar Bear Rescue by Jennifer Keats Curtis, illustrated by John Gomes
Follow the rescue of orphaned polar bear Kali (pronounced Cully) from the Inupiat village of Kali (Point Lay in English) to the Alaska Zoo in Anchorage to his new home at the Buffalo Zoo in New York with Luna, a female polar bear. This photographic journey beautifully captures the remarkable development of the cub, who initially drinks from a baby bottle, sucks his paw for comfort, and sleeps with a “blankie” as he rapidly grows into the largest land carnivore on earth.

5th Grade to 6th Grade Book of the Year

The Dumbest Idea Ever! by Jimmy Gownley
Jimmy Gownley’s graphic novel memoir about the “dumb” idea that changed his life forever!What if the dumbest idea ever turned your life upside down?At thirteen, Jimmy was popular, at the top of his class, and the leading scorer on his basketball team. But all that changed when chicken pox forced him to miss the championship game. Things went from bad to worse when he got pneumonia and missed even more school. Before Jimmy knew it, his grades were sinking and nothing seemed to be going right.How did Jimmy turn things around, get back on top at school, and land a date with the cutest girl in class?

Teen Book of the Year

The One by Kiera Cass

The beautifully romantic third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series!The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales, and is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie’s Matched, or Lauren Oliver’s Delirium.

Entering the Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s made her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Children’s Choice Debut Author

J.A. White for The Thickety: A Path Begins

The Thickety: A Path Begins is a spellbinding tale about a girl, the Thickety, and the power of magic. Fans of Neil Gaiman will love this thrilling new world.

When Kara Westfall was five years old, her mother was convicted of the worst of all crimes: witchcraft. Years later, Kara and her little brother, Taff, are still shunned by the people of their village, who believe that nothing is more evil than magic…except, perhaps, the mysterious forest that covers nearly the entire island. It has many names, this place. Sometimes it is called the Dark Wood, or Sordyr’s Realm. But mostly it’s called the Thickety.

The villagers live in fear of the Thickety and the terrible creatures that live there. But when an unusual bird lures Kara into the forbidden forest, she discovers a strange book with unspeakable powers. A book that might have belonged to her mother.

And that is just the beginning of the story.

Teen Choice Debut Author

Jennifer Mathieu for The Truth About Alice

Everyone knows Alice slept with two guys at one party. When Healy High star quarterback, Brandon Fitzsimmons, dies in a car crash, it was because he was sexting with Alice. Ask anybody.

Rumor has it Alice Franklin is a slut. It’s written all over the “slut stall” in the girls’ bathroom: “Alice had sex in exchange for math test answers” and “Alice got an abortion last semester.” After Brandon dies, the rumors start to spiral out of control. In this remarkable debut novel, four Healy High students tell all they “know” about Alice–and in doing so reveal their own secrets and motivations, painting a raw look at the realities of teen life. But in this novel from Jennifer Mathieu, exactly what is the truth about Alice? In the end there’s only one person to ask: Alice herself.

Children’s Choice Illustrator

Chris Appelhans for Sparky! by Jenny Offill
Like the Caldecott Medal-winning Officer Buckle and Gloria, Sparky stars a pet who has more to offer than meets the eye. When our narrator orders a sloth through the mail, the creature that arrives isn’t good at tricks or hide-and-seek . . . or much of anything. Still, there’s something about Sparky that is irresistible.

To examine any book more closely at Amazon, please click on image of book.

2015 Children's and Teen Choice Book Awards

I am an Amazon affiliate which means if you buy anything through my blog, I get a very small kickback at no cost to you. I use this money to pay the postage and handling for my giveaways.

Follow PragmaticMom’s board ‘Best of’ PragmaticMom on Pinterest.

Welcome to the 61st Kid Lit Blog Hop where we continue to develop a dynamic and engaged community of children’s books bloggers, authors, publishers, and publicists. So, you are always more than welcome to join us by popping in a post and hopping around to meet some of your fellow Kid Lit bloggers and authors!

This week, we are excited to be including a Google+ Linky Party to be held in conjunction with the Kid Lit Blog Hop. These linky parties are designed to give you the opportunity to connect with and grow your network of fellow kid lit bloggers, authors, and parents through your various social media platforms.

 

Hostesses:

Mother Daughter Book Reviews

Julie Grasso, Author/ Blogger

Cheryl Carpinello, Author / Blogger

Stacking Books

BeachBoundBooks

Pragmatic Mom

Reading Authors

The Logonauts

A Book Long Enough

Spark and Pook

Happy Hopping everyone and enjoy the Hop!

Kid Lit Blog Hop

 

Kid Lit Blog Hop & Linky Party Rules *Please Read*

1. LINKY PARTY: Add the link to your Google+ profile page in the Google+ Linky Party list below. Be sure to visit at least the two links directly before yours as well as your hosts’ Google+ pages. Be sure to follow some folks with similar interests and share posts that catch your eye. If you do not have a Google+ profile, you are welcome to link up a different social media profile (Pinterest, Facebook, etc.).

2. KID LIT BLOG HOP: Link up any Kid Lit related post in the Kid Lit Blog Hop. This can be a link to a children’s book review, a discussion about children’s literature/literacy, or a post on a recently-read children’s book or one that you love from your childhood.

* Don’t link directly to your blog, it must be a specific post.*

* For Authors, we prefer you to link to your blog if you have one. Please link unique posts each time ~ no repeats please. *

* Make sure you include an image relevant to the POST (e.g., book cover), not your blog button or photo of yourself.*

* Feel free to link more than one post.*

3. KID LIT BLOG HOP: Please visit AT LEAST the TWO LINKS from the Kid Lit Blog Hop directly ahead of your own and leave them some love in the form of a comment. We are trying to build a community of bloggers, readers, parents, authors, and others who are as passionate about children’s literature as we are so please CONNECT and follow any or all of the blogs that interest you!

4. If you like, grab the button above and put it somewhere on your blog, preferably the post you’re linking up. If you’d prefer, you can just add a text link back to this Hop so that others can find it and check out all these great book links!

5. It would really help us get the word out about the Kid Lit Blog Hop if you would be so kind as to tweet, share, and spread the word about the Hop!

Happy Hopping!

 

GOOGLE+ LINKY PARTY

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

KID LIT BLOG HOP

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…


If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

By Mia Wenjen, PragmaticMom

13 Comments

  1. I loved reading the winners! The haircut book looks hilarious!
    Thanks. Stopping by via the KLBH
    Brittany recently posted…Campus College Advice: School SuppliesMy Profile

  2. I have such a problem with choosing books by the cover. I want to read Thickety because it looks cute, and I want Sparky because how could you not want it.
    Jeanette Nyberg recently posted…TONS of Coloring Pages For AdultsMy Profile

  3. Mia, I love all of these book collections that you put together…such a great reference! Visiting from the Aloha blog hop!

  4. Ann

    The target audience chooses the winners, what a concept 😉
    Ann recently posted…This Summer Rocks!My Profile

  5. Training Mummy

    Some great books to keep an eye out for. Thanks for linking to the #weekendbookclub

  6. Nice Collections of kids book… Will buy them for my kids.

  7. This is a great website … I love to visit this site to get such useful information about the pragmatic mothers..

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge